Disregarded by The Law Series

Hello everyone, I want to take a minute to introduce this new segment of my blog that I’ve decided to call the Disregarded by the Law series. In this part of my blog, I want to focus on people who have committed crimes sometimes even heinous ones but were still disregarded and in my opinion not well taken care of by the law in their cases. I want to focus on offenders that were abused, sex trafficked, mentally ill, etc. I don’t want to paint these people as victims but I do want to talk about and bring attention to their cases because I believe that sometimes when people do terrible things like kill other people it isn’t always just because they are a cold-blooded killer. This does not mean that what happened to the victims in these cases is right or okay or that these offenders are innocent I just think that the special factors in these cases should have been paid more attention than they were. And I think it is important to write about cases where the defendants have been written off or overlooked by the law even if they did do something terrible. And I think it is especially important to write about cases where the defendants are being affected by racism, homophobia, or the stigmas against mental illness or abuse victims. I want to focus on cases that I think the law may have come down too hard on. The first case I want to talk about in this segment is Andre Thomas’. Andre Thomas committed heartbreaking and gruesome murders but from what I have found in my research he also seems to be severely mentally ill. So I wanted to talk about how his case could have possibly been handled better because of what is in my opinion pretty apparent mental illness. Keep an eye out for the post about that case coming this Friday, February 6th!

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started